Bout of Books 6.0 (main post)

The Bout of Books is over! Scroll to the end of the post for my wrap-up thoughts.

I am participating in The Bout of Books! I am hoping to read the books below for this goal. A bunch of them are ones I’ve already started reading, but they’re long and I need to finish them, so there. I’ll be tracking page count more than book count because of that.

5907 22628 185632 6321533

8253920 9668611 12127750

If I finish those, I will tackle the rest of my Elizabeth Bear books.

Here is the main blurb for the readathon, but the rest of the rules and stuff can be found at the link above:

“The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 7th and runs through Sunday, January 13th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional.”

I will keep updating this post, so check back if you want to watch my progress. Daily updates below the cut.

Monday

Books I’ve finished today: 1

Total pages I’ve read: 103

Books: The Hobbit

Notes: I didn’t read as much as I wanted to or expected to because I got totally distracted by the North and South miniseries and watched the whole thing and-yeah I felt guilty afterwards. Hahaha. But it was so good!

Tuesday

Books I’ve finished today: 1

Books I’ve finished total: 2

Pages I’ve read today: 343

Total pages I’ve read: 446

Books: I finished The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland by Catherynne Valente and read quite a bit of Carnival by Elizabeth Bear (reread).

Notes: The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland was kind of disappointing after the perfection of the first book in the series, but it was still very good! I love Carnival to pieces.

Wednesday

Books I’ve finished today: 1

Books I’ve finished total: 3

Pages I’ve read today: 293

Total pages I’ve read: 739

Books: finished Carnival by Elizabeth Bear, read a chunk of Mark of Athena and a few pages of North and South

Notes: The Twitter chat was SOOOOOOOO FUN. Really really intense and hard to try to keep up, but totally great.

Thursday

Books I’ve finished today: 1

Books I’ve finished total: 4

Pages I’ve read today: 346

Total pages I’ve read: 1085

Books: Finished The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan, read bits of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and North and South.

Notes: I was looking at the books I’ve read so far this year, and ALL of them are children’s books or comics except for Carnival, which was a reread. WEIRD. I’m trying to decide if it’s just random or if I really do read that many children’s books.

Friday

Books I’ve finished today: 1

Books I’ve finished total: 5

Pages I’ve read today: 329

Total pages I’ve read: 1414

Books: Finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower, read a chunk of Towers of Midnight by Robert Jordan and a bit of North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell.

Notes: Perks was so great! It’s kinda a classic so I was afraid I was expecting too much from it, but I loved the epistolary structure (and how that actually informed and mattered to the story, instead of just feeling like “Hey let’s write this in letters because it’s EDGY”) but especially the characters of Charlie, Patrick, and Sam.

Saturday

Books I’ve finished today: 0

Books I’ve finished total: 5

Pages I’ve read today: 332

Total pages I’ve read: 1746

Books: Pages from Towers of Midnight by Robert Jordan and North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell.

Notes: I mostly tackled Towers of Midnight today. That book is so flaming long! I enjoyed shipping all the obscurely minor characters, and also all of Ituralde’s POV. ITURALDE FOR THE IRON THRONE. Or something. I reached the riot scene in North and South and that was jolly.

Challenges I’ve participated in so far:

Cover Love

Page 48

Book Spine Poetry

Book Crack

I also participated in the Scientific Discovery and Vampires in Popular Fiction challenges, but just posted in the comments.

Sunday

Books I’ve finished today: 1

Books I’ve finished total: 6

Pages I’ve read today: 275

Total pages I’ve read: 2021

Books: finished Towers of Midnight by Robert Jordan/Brandon Sanderson

Notes: WELP THAT WAS EXHAUSTING. I’m pretty sure that book took ten years off my life (especially the ending! WHAT.).

Wrap-up:

And thus the end of Bout of Books!

(THERE ARE NO BEGINNINGS OR ENDINGS IN THE WHEEL OF TIME. BUT IT IS AN ENDING.)

2021 pages was….a lot of pages. I didn’t really count up the pages before I began the Bout (I only heard about it the Sunday before, and was all “QUICK MAKE GOALS FASTER” which is why my goals were really broad and stuff).

I finished all of the books pictured above, except for Flash Burnout, which I didn’t even begin. I DID read 170 pages of North and South, which wasn’t on my list (free e-books are cool).

I didn’t make any goals toward blogs/twitter/etc, but I did visit over 50 blogs and commented on most of those. I also participated in two Twitter chats, which were SUPER SUPER GREAT. Much laughter and awesomeness was had in those.

Any Bouters who are reading this: YOU ARE AWESOME. I enjoyed chatting with you, reading your blogs, flailing and emoting and getting into shenanigans with you. I hope to run into you again in the Interwebz.

 

36 thoughts on “Bout of Books 6.0 (main post)

  1. My boyfriend read The Hobbit recently and he liked it but he wanted more out of it than just people sitting around smoking on a pipe for the beginning half of the book. I think he plans on reading the Lord of the Rings series now though.

    I hope you are able to meet your goals, happy reading!

    1. It’s a reread for me, and I’m surprised by how much action is in it, in fact. I remembered it as a lot of silliness and smoking, but it’s pretty hardcore.

  2. Ooooh, The Hobbit! I really want to reread that one in 2013 – I’ve not read it since before the LOTR movies hit the big screen, so quite a while ago! Also YAY FOR PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER! I’ve read the book and loved it, but I missed the movie so now I’m eagerly awaiting the arrival of my pre-ordered DVD come February… Oh, and also YAY FOR NORTH AND SOUTH! Richard Armitage will forever be my Mr Thornton, and the music’s so gorgeous. 🙂

    Happy reading for day 3 – and thanks for dropping by yesterday’s post!
    Ellie @ Musings of a Bookshop Girl

    1. The Perks movie looks so good! I’ve been meaning to read the book for a while, so Imma read it and then watch the movie. NORTH AND SOUTH WAS TOTALLY GREAT, TRUE STORY.

      1. I missed the movie because my sucky local cinema only showed it for about ten minutes (grrrr), but I’ve preordered the DVD. Roll on Feb 11, or whenever it hits the shelves here! SO GLAD you enjoyed it… 😀

        North and South rocks. The book was amazing, and the miniseries… ohhhh, those moments of snowy white filling the air, the backwards and forwards of the machines with THAT MUSIC over the top. And RA’s John was just the right mixture of vulnerable and masterful – just the way I like my Men In Britches. See also: Mr Rochester. Okay I’m just going to go over here and sit quietly and think about these things for a while. *muses happily*

  3. I need to read some Rick Riordan, my friends love him! I did see the movie for The Lightening Thief and thought it was a lot of fun, so I’m sure the book will be great too! I also want to try the fairyland books, and have read a few Elizabeth Bear’s, Dust is coming to mind. Hope you are enjoying your week, and good luck on your reading! 🙂

    1. I heartily recommend them all! 🙂 The Lightning Thief book is, of course, better than the movie. 😉 But the Fairyland books are so just so great that I may explode from my love, haha.

  4. Wow great job so far, my best goal for this readathon in the past was 1500, but that was after the whole week, and you’ve still got the weekend left! Awesome job, keep it up!

    1. Mark of Athena is good! Not as good as The Son of Neptune (the preceding one), but that book was so great it’s hard to follow it up.

      I’ll probably do some mini-reviews for all the kids books I’ve been reading lately, good grief.

  5. Congratulations on an amazing week! So glad you enjoyed The Perks of Being a Wallflower – and HOORAY for North and South! After Mr Rochester, John Thornton is DEFINITELY one of my favourite ‘tall, dark, handsome and brooding’ literary men… 😉
    See you at the next Bout of Books, woohoo!
    Ellie @ Musings of a Bookshop Girl

  6. That’s a ton of pages. Well done! I’m so far behind on the Wheel of Time. Maybe I’ll start it over when I finish progress on Martin’s series. It been probably a decade since I read Eye of the World.

Leave a Reply

