Bout of Books: Cover Love mini-challenge

MsBuff’s Bout of Books mini-challenge for today is to share your favorite cover and/or the funniest cover you’ve seen. Here are a few of my faves!

42672

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien: 75th Anniversary edition. I got this for Christmas, and it looks way more gorgeous in real life. The insides of the covers have Thorin’s map and a smaller-scale map of Mirkwood and surrounding lands. It’s awesome.

3136191All the Windwracked Stars by Elizabeth Bear. I really like all of the covers for Bear’s “Edda of Burdens” series, but this one is my favorite. I haven’t even read these, trollololol, but I love Bear.

6124254

Conrad’s Fate by Diana Wynne Jones. DWJ’s books don’t always get great covers, but when they do, they’re damn fabulous. This is my ultimate favorite.

10866624

Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan. I generally hate YA covers with photos, models, photomanips, etc. The new-ish silhouette trend makes me incredibly happy, and Unspoken has my favorite so far.

6 thoughts on “Bout of Books: Cover Love mini-challenge

  1. I love love LOVE this edition of The Hobbit! I have a paperback that someone passed on to me, but the hardcover edition here in the UK is selling for crazy prices now and APPEARS to be out of print. Which sucks, because I totally want one. Might have to go a-searching for it sometime soon, I think! πŸ™‚

    Great choices anyway, I love being actively INVITED to judge a book by its cover for a change!
    Ellie @ Musings of a Bookshop Girl

  2. THESE ARE PRETTY AND I APPROVE. Also, I’ve read all of these and I approve this message! Hm, I think you would like Windwracked stars. It’s trippy.

  3. You’re so right about Diana Wynne Jones not always getting covers that suit her books, but that one is really nice πŸ™‚ All the Windwracked Stars looks interesting. Great choices!

Leave a Reply

