Dewey’s Readathon Wrap-Up (April 2014)

Well, here I am, incredibly sleep-deprived, but also feeling proud that I was awake and (mostly) reading for 23 hours. I fell asleep at 4 am (it ended at 5 am, here). Below are my responses to the End of Event Meme, and a few other things I learned.

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? The middle of the day, because there were small children at my house (I tried to distract them with picture books) and also because I had various things that I wanted/needed to do but put them aside for the day.

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Is this asking for suggestions for readathon books? My favorite book that I read this time was Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle: a fast, funny, wonderful Middle Grade read about a kid running off to NYC for a Broadway audition. Lois McMaster Bujold, Mira Grant, and Stephanie Perkins are some author suggestions  – they’re always easy reads for me (although not necessarily short).

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Not really; it seems to be a well-oiled machine, at this point. I didn’t see any cheerleaders around “my place” but I signed up pretty late so I’m not bothered.

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The twitter hosts on @readathon were really active and helpful. Since I was participating completely through Twitter this time, that was really great.

5. How many books did you read? I finished 5 and read first chapters of two others.

6. What were the names of the books you read? Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle, Diplomatic Immunity by Lois McMaster Bujold, Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton, Rage by Jackie Morse Kessler, and The Grass-Cutting Sword by Catherynne Valente.

7. Which book did you enjoy most? See Question 2: Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle. Theater kids! Theater adults! Hilarity! New York City adventures! Sassy narrator!

8. Which did you enjoy least? Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton. BOY HOWDY, was this book upsetting. If the sub-genre Domestic Horror Story doesn’t already exist, it should. I love a good ghost story, but stories about people who make horrible domestic choices and then have to suffer the consequences is TERRIFYING to me.

9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I didn’t interact with any this year, but I’m sure they’re all great.

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I’ll participate again, maybe not immediately and not every time. But I do have fun when I do it. I’ll be a reader and maybe a cheerleader.

 

Miscellaneous notes:

My coffee-drinking really worked out for me this time. I had three cups: one in the morning, one at around 5 pm, and another at 9 pm. This enabled me to stay alert all day until about 3 AM.

If you, too, are plagued by small children, read them picture books! ALL THE PICTURE BOOKS. I recommend Harquin by John Burningham.

I re-learned that reading a really difficult, dense book (eg A Room of One’s Own) is a horrible plan during the Readathon. I’ll have to re-attempt that one again sometime.

ImageImageImageImageImage

3 thoughts on “Dewey’s Readathon Wrap-Up (April 2014)

  1. Wow! You did great with 23 hours of reading and all those books. Better Nate than Never sounds like so much fun. Clever plan to read to the children during Read-a-thon.

  2. 23 hours?! Whoa, you’re a superhero! And I’m sorry to hear that no cheerleaders dropped by your blog, but you know what? This makes this victory all yours! I’m here though because congratulations are necessary because you’ve done a marvellous job. Few people are brave enough to pick up a classic for such a fast-paced event, but you did it! -throws confetti- Anyway, I hope you’re proud of yourself and that you had fun and that you’re catching up on some sleep!

Leave a Reply

