Dewey’s Readathon – Oct. 2014

I’m once again participating in Dewey’s 24-hour Readathon! I love this thing! For most updates, follow my Twitter and Instagram @bahnree.

Here’s my stack:

Loading

My #readathon pile keeps growing I have a problem

View on Instagram

Opening Meme
1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Eugene, Oregon. IT’S RAINING.
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? Dealing with Dragons by Patricia Wrede. I’ve heard a lot about it, and stubborn princesses and dragons are kinda my THING.
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? ……coffee? Is coffee a snack? Drinkable snacks are best.
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I’ve got an English degree but I’m working in a science lab which I find endlessly hilarious. I’m a crazy dog lady.
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? I planned out my reads more carefully this time and especially planned reading order – it’s important to save fun books for later when I’m tired.

HOURLY UPDATES

5-6 AM: Dozed a little and read some of Dealing With Dragons. It’s very funny so far! I’m going to try to save it for later, though.

6-7 AM: Drank coffee (coffee is just, just, the best, amirite) and read comics like Sandman: The Dream Hunters and Cartozia Tales. Both of those titles were fabulous!

7-8 AM: Read Dune. This book is even better and more complex than I remembered. It shows its age a little, though.

8-10 AM: Read Washington Square. I love Henry James and this book was no exception. Fantastic female characters – all of the males in this book are really distasteful, haha!

10-11 AM: Pancake breakfast, mini-challenges, + more Cartozia Tales, which are delightful.

11-12 PM: Finished Washington Square! A+, 5/5!

12-3 PM: Read a bunch of Dune. This book is slow-going.

3-4 PM: Continued with Dealing with Dragons and read some more comics.

Mid-Event Survey:
1. What are you reading right now? Dealing With Dragons by Patricia Wrede.
2. How many books have you read so far? 1 book, 200 pages of a 2nd, 100 pages of a 3rd.
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? Erased by Jennifer Rush.
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? Honestly I’m just having a hard time concentrating for longer than 15 minutes, haha. But I read comics when I’m tired of reading.
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? So many awesome mini-challenges! I’ve been really enjoying them and participating in most.

4 PM-3 AM: Read lots of comics, finished Dealing with Dragons, read more Dune, and read some of Erased by Jennifer Rush.

3 AM-5 AM: Fell asleep. CURSES. I don’t think I’ve ever made it past 3 AM.

END OF EVENT MEME:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Everything after midnight.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Some books that have kept me up at night: Dust by Elizabeth Bear, And Only To Deceive by Tasha Alexander, The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison, pretty much any book by Lois McMaster Bujold
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope! It was awesome, honestly, especially cheerers and mini-challenges.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? EVERYTHING?
  5. How many books did you read? 2 1/2 plus five million comic issues.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? Dealing with Dragons by Patricia Wrede, Dune by Frank Herbert, Washington Square by Henry James, lots of Cartozia Tales, Avengers, Black Widow, Captain Marvel, Aquaman, Batwoman
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? Cartozia Tales
  8. Which did you enjoy least? I really liked all of them, but maybe Dune, since I’ve read it before?
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? CHREAD
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Very likely, haha! I usually end up participating in October and skipping April though, April is always busy….Just a reader.

Mini-Challenges:

Coffee or Tea

Shelfie

Weird Reading Position

Name Your Readathon

Book Staging

Book Tower

Show It Off

Color Cover

Pet Parade

Leave a Reply

