Looking Forward: 2016 Books

So here’s my list of Most Anticipated Books of 2016, but to be honest I’m still working on a bunch of AWESOME books that came out in 2015. 2015 has been a great year for excellent releases. That being said, check out the top ten I’m looking forward to, and let me know what you’re waiting for.

The Girl Who Raced Fairyland All The Way Home by Catherynne M. Valente (January 7th)
This is Book #5 in Valente’s Fairyland series. It’s sort of an Alice in Wonderland during World War II story, except with a lot more heart, plot, and absolutely beautiful prose. I want to eat the prose up with a spoon. I can’t say too much about this without spoiling the previous books, but the series in general is about a girl named September who winds up in Fairyland and makes a lot of excellent friends and has a lot of terrifying adventures and does her best to save people, even the monsters.
The first book in the series is called The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making.

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (March 8th)
I’m trash for Cassandra Clare. That’s T-R-A-S-H. I don’t believe in guilty reading pleasures but if I did, urban fantasy romance series like this one would be it. anyway, I don’t even really know what this is about except that it’s set in the Shadowhunter world where there are vampires and fairies and warlocks and these people called the Shadowhunters who hunt demons. Sometimes they all fight each other. Usually someone falls in love with someone they shouldn’t. It’s a good time.

The Great American Whatever by Tim Federle (March 29th)
Tim Federle has written a couple of hilarious middle grade novels (eg Better Nate Than Ever), a couple of literary-inspired drinkbooks (eg Tequila Mockingbird), and at least one picture book. This is his first YA novel and I’m psyched out about it. I’m not saying I read his books because he is hilarious on Twitter, but you should probably follow him on Twitter. I don’t even care what this book is about, is what I’m saying. It’s Federle so it’s going to be fantastic.

Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan (April 5th)
Sarah Rees Brennan is one of my all-time faves. Her books always suck me in immediately and her characters are hilarious without being slapstick, tragic without being angsty, and strong without being perfect. This one is reportedly based on A Tale of Two Cities (my favorite Dickens book), so two of my favorite things in one! Sign me up.

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater (April 26th)
Hnffffffadsgkjlkfjglkg
I mean
This is book #4 in the Raven Cycle series. If you haven’t read the first one, The Raven Boys, go read that right now and then we can talk. It’s an epic modern-day quest to find a Welsh king (WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT WELSH KINGS?) but there is also banter and found-family and fate and destiny and choice and darkness and brightness and humor and love and friendship and intergenerational female friendships and no-nonsense girls and well-meaning but pompous boys and angry boys and broken boys and magic and dreams and dysfunctional villains who aren’t always the worst human beings but sometimes are. Oh also a lot of cars. SO MUCH CAR. I don’t even like cars, that’s how much I love this series.

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan (May 3rd)
Rick Riordan has written a lot of books about modern-day kids encountering the old pantheons of gods (such as Greek, Egyptian, Roman, Norse). This is the first book in a new series. I’m a hUGe Fan OF his WORRRRRk. He makes mythology even funnier than it already is but also more real and present. His casts of characters are always a lot of fun too, and if it wasn’t clear already, I’m very into characters over plot.

And I Darken by Kiersten White (June 28th)
YA retelling of Vlad the Impaler by a really excellent writer. Who isn’t here for this?

The Bronze Key by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare (September??)
This is Book #3 in Black and Clare’s Magisterium series, which is sort of a Harry Potter remix that includes everything I liked about Harry Potter and nothing I didn’t like and has several key differences that I won’t spoil for you. It’s Middle Grade and the first book is The Iron Trial. There’s magic and friendship and found-family and adorable demonic wolves.

Solutions and Other Problems by Allie Brosh (October 25th)
Allie Brosh manages to convey really emotional stories and moments with only crude Paint-esque drawings. Her first book/webcomic, Hyperbole and a Half, is a collection of illustrated essays, many of which are about depression and mental illness, and many of which are funny stories about her ridiculous dogs. I’m a huge fan of her work so I’m looking forward to this newest book from her.

Ancestral Night by Elizabeth Bear (November??)
This is a space opera about two spaceship salvagers who are exploring the remains of “White Transitions,” which are failed attempts to use a “White Drive” to travel across huge distances in space. I’m hoping for lots of shenanigans in space featuring spaceship wrecks and lost treasures. Like the Bermuda Triangle but in SPACE. Elizabeth Bear is the best and she’s at her best when writing science fiction.

2 thoughts on “Looking Forward: 2016 Books

  1. Hnffffffadsgkjlkfjglkghhhhhhhhhh Raven Boyssssssss Have you heard the good news about our lord and savior Glendowerrrrr?

    Also excellent other choices. You’ve reminded me I’m excited about other things BESIDES Raven Boys and given me even MORE to get MORE excited about ❤

Leave a Reply

