Dewey: Hours 1-3

I’m once again participating in Dewey’s 24-hour-Readathon.

Mini-challenges from Hours 1-3 below!

Opening Meme

What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

The wild suburbs of Oregon, where we tend our fields of Starbucks and raise our powerful hipsters and strong hippies.

Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

ALL OF THEM pictured here. Attachments is really amazing so far, as I expected from Rainbow Rowell.
Which snack are you most looking forward to?

Harvest Snaps LIGHTLY SALTEDDDDDD. They’re so good.
Tell us a little something about yourself!

I’m a twenty-something crazy dog lady. I make nests out of books and totoros.

If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? 

I’ve got a couple of audiobooks in my stack, which I rarely listen to but I am GONNA DO IT. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater, and Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson.

TOP 5 BOOKISH CHILDHOOD MOMENTS

  1. Reading Winnie-the-Pooh and The House on Pooh Corner. Over and over and over and over. I definitely had a teddy bear phase and researched teddy bears and collected as many as I could – or rather rescued them from garage sales.
  2. The Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. Classic obviously, and I still reread these when I can.
  3. Pony Pals series: I gobbled these up, along with any other horse book I could get my hands on (including a horse health book, which leads into a funny story about how I figured out the birds and the bees (it had photos (I don’t know what else to say at this point))). PONY PALS WERE FUN.
  4. Reading Usagi Yojimbo while eating PB&J sandwiches was a staple of my childhood. Surprisingly violent considering I don’t generally like reading violence.
  5. I started reading Redwall by Brian Jacques in my pre-teens, convinced I could never read such a “big, grown-up book” and then I finished it in three days and it was all over, it was too late, I was a bookworm forever and ever and now I live in a room-full of books.

#ReadathonStory: Five Word Story

“One more page,” she cursed.

One thought on “Dewey: Hours 1-3

  1. Love your bookish memories! My brother was really into the Redwall books, but for some reason I never read them. I’m guessing I’ve missed the window at this point? 😦

Leave a Reply

