Dracula: Honestly, Travel Is Kinda Draining

This post only includes spoilers through chapter 4 of Dracula.

But first I found some cool stuff:

 

tumblr_o1yfdmlabo1rl17i3o2_r1_500
Jonathan finding Dracula’s inert body during the daytime.
So in chapter 4 as we’ve seen, Jonathan continues to have a horrifying time. I think it’s weird that Jonathan mentions that the vampire ladies want to suck his blood, though (51)? They only talked about kissing in the last scene, and based on Jon’s reaction to the mirror-throwing I assumed he would assume they were talking about actual kissing. The vampire ladies also appear to be able to morph to/from dust (56), unless that’s just Jonathan hallucinating as they approach? What do you think?

Jon is a newbie in terms of vampire lore, as we see again when the Szgany are unloading the “great, square boxes” (55) with no commentary from Jon. I CAN’T IMAGINE WHAT THOSE ARE FOR. tumblr_mpn4hrgfng1r6fdkno3_500

Jon keeps exhibiting the traditional behavior of literary Victorian women, eg “I sat down and simply cried” (57). I don’t blame Jonathan AT ALL for freaking out 24/7 while he’s in a vampire’s house. But it’s really interesting to me how far this book goes with it, considering that in most Victorian literature the women are constantly having fits of hysterics and attacks of the vapors while the men run off to do the deadly deeds. COMMENTS?

Jon also seems to fear that his experiences in Castle Dracula may have tainted him spiritually or something, implied by when he is considering escape and hoping that “the dreaded Hereafter may be open to me” (58). He doesn’t want to die but also doesn’t want to be damned to hell and I don’t really understand what is going on here, to be honest.

So far I am picturing Dracula as a dragon/leech/basilisk hybrid. Y/N?

5 thoughts on “Dracula: Honestly, Travel Is Kinda Draining

  1. I think Jonathan crying and such is showing that even strong manly Victorian men, when faced with certain death, are allowed to break down a little. May have been odd for the time of the book but maybe Stoker was trying say something here about men expressing emotion. Not all of us could walk with our heads held high to the chopping block, so to speak.

    The sucking blood comment felt really out of place for me as well, and though he seems oblivious to Vampires, I believe he does mention them in an earlier chapter, along with werewolves. And it totally sounds like the vamp ladies appeared out of dust – not sure what that is about.

    I felt like maybe he was becoming more spiritual at the end because he knew he would die (I assume he is dead or a vampire toy for the vamp ladies). Maybe he felt damned because of the actions Dracula did while disguised as him? Stealing babies etc… Or maybe because of the impure thoughts about the lady vamps. He doesn’t say or imply that he thinks he will become like them though, and that’s the reason I would assume I would be damned.
    Yay! Fun!

  2. I took Jonathan’s remark as “at least if I die falling down the cliff I can still have a chance of keeping my eternal salvation” vs. getting turned into a vampire, his soul becoming corrupt, and him essentially becoming a fallen angel/demon. I’m a little fuzzy on HOW they think that all works but getting their eternal life from the devil as opposed to from God and thereby automatically going to hell on the day of judgement (or something).
    *shrug*

Leave a Reply

