Top 10 Tuesday: Best Books That Were Recommended to Me

Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Today’s topic: Book recs! I love recommending books to (i.e. throwing books at) pretty much anyone and everyone, but I also love hearing what books other people have read and enjoyed. These are (some of) my favorite books that have been recommended to me by other people – in no particular order.

giphy-12

1. And Only To Deceive by Tasha Alexander: I read a review for this on someone’s blog but I DO NOT REMEMBER WHO. I am so sorry because if I did I would link you and love you forever. A few years ago I came across the review and it sounded like exactly what I wanted in a cozy book: mystery, romance, feminism, set in Victorian England, protagonist has a Homer obsession….And Only to Deceive is the first (and best so far) of Tasha Alexander’s “Lady Emily” series. I highly recommend it for mystery-lovers.
2. The Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner: I am 90% sure snazel recommended this one to me so don’t tell me if I’m wrong. The first book appears to be a straightforward quest/heist story but it’s filled with twists and turns, along with having A+ worldbuilding, iconic characters, and layers of backstory, history, and mythology. The sequel, Queen of Attolia, is even better and the third is even better etc etc etc. Book #5 comes out next year.
3. The Chosen by Chaim Potok: I had heard of this book before but bughuff pretty much forced me (and our book club) to read it and I am so glad she did. I’m scared to summarize the plot because it will sound boring but it’s REALLY WONDERFUL and pretty much anyone who reads should pick it up.
4. Three Signs of a Miserable Job by Patrick Lencioni: I don’t even like nonfiction, especially how-to or self-help but this is a really straightforward book about how to be Strong and Brave at work, or how to know when it’s time to  make a diversion and flee. There was a lot of practical advice and information that anyone can apply to any job. It was recommended to me by gamedevftw.
5. William Shakespeare’s Star Wars series by Ian Doescher: The idea of retelling Star Wars in the form of Shakespeare plays sounded REALLY gimmicky to me, but gingernifty persuaded me to give it a try. I LOVE THESE BOOKS. They make the Star Wars films seem fresh again (which is impressive because I’ve been watching them since I was a tiny Bahnree), and made me look at them in new and interesting ways. I’m really impressed with how Doescher turns the visuals of the movie into monologues and iambic pentameter. HOW DO U WORD??
6. Feet of Clay by Terry Pratchett: When I lived with kemendraugh for a year in college, I picked up Feet of Clay one day when she wasn’t – no, wait, when she was definitely looking right at me. It was my first experience with the Discworld series and I laughed my way through it. Besides the humor, though, it’s a really fun, engaging fantasy book with lots of mysteries, twists, and EXCELLENT characters.
7. The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson: This is another snazel recommendation, and one of my favorite YA novels. It’s the first of a trilogy about a girl who is cursed or blessed with a “Godstone” that she must use to complete the one task she was born to do. There’s arranged marriage, rebellions, fencing, fighting, torture…revenge…TRUE LOVE! MIRACLES! I love it.
8. The Thrawn trilogy by Timothy Zahn: Once upon a time I was at my cousin’s house with nothing to do so my older cousin handed me Heir To The Empire and suggested I try it. If it was too hard for me to read, I could give it back. I was still reading it when it was time for me to leave and he very kindly let me borrow it (and then the other two in the trilogy when I needed them). I adore these books: they’re cozy and fun and so very, very Star Wars, and the characters in them have stuck with me since I first read them.
9. The Perilous Gard by Elizabeth Marie Pope: This is either a kemendraugh rec or a rec by another friend of ours, Emily. I’ve talked about this book at least once before on this blog but imma do it again. This is a combination of historical drama, Tam Lin retelling, Faerie tale, mystery madness, and fun time, and I love it.
10. Alexander of Macedon by Peter Green: This was on ilvalentinos ‘ recommended reading list for Alexander the Great, and it’s by far my favorite Alex book (I’ve read…a few). It’s comprehensive but interesting to read, and does a really good job on evaluating the sources we have on Alexander and basing its information on the most solid ones. I also appreciate that Peter Green respects Alex in a way but doesn’t idealize or demonize him.

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Best Books That Were Recommended to Me

  1. Mwahahaha, Perilous Gard was definitely my suggestion that Emily read to us and is probably my crowning reader’s advisory achievement to date. I’m so proud.

    ALSO ugh Terry Pratchett so good. So fun. So important.

    I need to read probably most of these books. I can’t believe I still haven’t gotten to Megan Whalen Turner. I have wanted to for a million years.

    1. Omg I made the list!! So glad you guys went along with my obsession with that book haha, because it really DOES sound boring when summarized. “Two boys, baseball, Judaism, daddy issues…um…lots of crippling feelings??? Idk just read it RIGHT NOW.”

Leave a Reply

