Scripture Sunday (1)

Scripture Sunday is a weekly post to highlight Bible passages I’ve read recently that were particularly interesting to me. I’m not a qualified expert in any way, so I will keep my thoughts to my highly-subjective impressions. We’ll see how it goes.

From my reading this week:

Then Jesus asked, “What is the kingdom of God like? What shall I compare it to? It is like a mustard seed, which a man took and planted in his garden. It grew and became a tree, and the birds of the air perched in its branches.”

Again he asked, “What shall I compare the kingdom of God to? It is like yeast that a woman took and mixed into a large amount of flour until it worked all through the dough.”

-Luke 13:18-20

Why I chose it:

The imagery in these verses is stunning (and I mean stunning in the hit-by-a-tree-branch way, not the wow-what-a-lovely-sunset way). Jesus’ hearers were expecting the kingdom of God to be a physical kingdom, but he is trying to explain that the kingdom of God has already arrived, and it is not a physical place. It’s everywhere, and it’s constantly acting as a force for change in the world. Jesus’ impact on our lives is the same: dramatic and all-encompassing but it appears humble because it’s everywhere.

Leave a Reply

