Top 10 Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Totally Meant To Read

I always have way more books on my To-Read list than I can possibly get to. That being said, below are 10 books (in no particular order) that came out in 2016 that I would love to read as soon as I have a chance

  1. You Know Me Well by David Levithan/Nina LaCour: I’ve really enjoyed David Levithan’s contemporary YA collaborations with Rachel Cohn (see #10), and I’ve heard good things about Nina LaCour, so I am definitely excited about a friendship story written by the two of them. This is on my shelf. I’m a terrible person.  Filed under: Friendship
  2. And I Darken by Kiersten White: This is the gender-swapped Vlad the Impaler story I always knew I needed. Or so I’ve heard. Plus I will read anything by Kiersten White. Filed under: Lady Dictators of My Heart
  3. Magic Binds by Ilona Andrews: This is the ninth book in an adventurous romantic paranormal series that I’ve been reading for a bit. They’re like the potato chips of my reading life, tbh. Filed under: I Love Everyone In This Bar
  4. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo: This is the sequel to Six of Crows, the fantasy heist YA that I always knew I needed. This….is on my shelf too. Whoops. Filed under: I Love Everyone In This Bar, Found Families
  5. Summer Days and Summer Nights ed. by Stephanie Perkins: This is a YA anthology. Stephanie Perkins also edited a Christmas-themed collection that was very strong. Filed under: Awwww, Wait No
  6. A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro: This is the gender-swapped Sherlock Holmes story that I always knew I needed. Or so I’ve heard. Filed under: Yes Good
  7. Exit, Pursued By a Bear by E.K. Johnston: I finally got on the Right Train this year and read a couple of other books by E.K. Johnston, and she is the real deal. This is a contemporary YA and I don’t know much else about it, but the author sells it for me. Filed under: Shakespeare References, Ee-Kay
  8. Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi: Funny story, I don’t know what this book is about, but it’s cover is beautiful, it’s Middle Grade, and I’ve been keeping up with Mafi since her first book, Shatter Me, so I’m on board. Filed under: Bloofer Covers
  9. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake: I’m very behind on my Kendare Blake reading but she is always a delight. This book is about three evil queens who have to queen it out and see who wins. Filed under: Why Are You So Scary, That’s a Lot of Blood
  10. The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn: Like I said above, I love the books these two have been writing. This one is a sequel to Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares, which I recommend and features a holiday-themed scavenger hunt romance in NYC. Filed under: Dream Team

 

Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Totally Meant To Read

  1. Most of these I also want to read.

    Oh and I read Dash and Lily because of your rec, and loved it, and the twelve days is also super good although a bit more sad and exactly what I needed this holiday.

Leave a Reply

