Scripture Sunday (10)

Scripture Sunday is a weekly quote-post to highlight Bible passages I’ve read recently that I found particularly interesting. I’m not a qualified expert in any way, so I will keep my thoughts to my highly-subjective impressions. My translation is the New International Version.

From my reading this week:

The Lord blessed the latter part of Job’s life more than the former part. He had fourteen thousand sheep, six thousand camels, a thousand yoke of oxen and a thousand donkeys. And he also had seven sons and three daughters. The first daughter he named Jemimah, the second Keziah and the third Keren-Happuch. Nowhere in all the land were there found women as beautiful as Job’s daughters, and their father granted them an inheritance along with their brothers.

After this, Job lived a hundred and forty years; he saw his children and their children to the fourth generation. And so Job died, an old man and full of years.

-Job 42:12-17

Why I chose it:

Genesis says that both man and woman are created in God’s image (Gen 1.27). But I often struggle with the rest of the Bible, in which women are constantly shunted aside, treated as lesser, or mentioned briefly as nameless daughters of a male patriarch/king/etc. There are many amazing women in the Bible, don’t get me wrong, but culturally they are usually not valued as much and it shows.

But this bit of Job makes me very happy. At the end of Job’s story, after he’s figured out all of his nonsense, when he is blessed with more children, his daughters (Jemimah, Keziah, Keren-Happuch)  get names and inheritances. Job is held up as an example of righteousness: even when everything in his life goes wrong, he never curses or blames God, although he does question him.

tl;dr be more like Job and acknowledge your daughters’ names.

 

Leave a Reply

