Top 10 Tuesday: Underrated/Hidden Gems

This week’s prompt is top 10 underrated books we’ve read in the past year or so.

1, 2, and and 3. The “Half Bad” trilogy by Sally Green: I’ve probably talked about these books before, but the main reason I love them is that they’re really unexpected. I never had a clue where the story was going or what was going to happen to the characters, and that’s really rare for me – I read too much and know too many conventions to be surprised very often. The character I started out hating was my favorite by the end, another whom I was suspicious of wound up being one of those characters I will defend to the end,  etc etc. Filed under: magic wars, character development like whoa, yay torture, oh no so much torture, trees will mess you up

4. Medieval Woman’s Song: Cross-Cultural Approaches edited by Anne Klinck: This is a collection of literary criticism on the genre of Woman’s Song in medieval literature. The chapter on Wulf and Eadwacer was my favorite obviously but most of the essays were really good. Filed under: my jam, my aesthetic, sing to me about genre subversion

5. Kaleidoscope: Diverse YA Science Fiction and Fantasy Stories: edited by Alisa Krasnostein and Julia Rios: Okay I KNOW I’ve talked about this book before but seriously, it’s the most entertaining and most solid short story collection I have ever read. I can’t even recommend any stories over the others because they are all great. Filed under: YAY

6. Batgirl by Kelley Puckett: DC has been reprinting this Cassandra Cain run lately, in big friendly paperbacks. The first reprint volume is Silent Knight and contains issues 1-8. Filed under: My Other Favorite Batgirl, Good Comics

7. Atomic Robo by Brian Clevinger: This is a comics series about a robot created by Nicola Tesla (yes, that Nicola Tesla) who acts out by fighting crime and stuff. There’s a lot of fun historical plots, as Robo is immortal and lives long after Tesla dies, but still keeps fighting crime and doing science. Filed under: Hug Forever, Sassy Robots

8. Princess Leia by Mark Waid: It’s only 5 issues, but I adore this comic book. It’s set after A New Hope and features Leia and her friend Evaan fly around the galaxy and gather Alderaan survivors. Filed under: x-wing pilots, space adventures, Good Comics

9. Star Wars: Before the Awakening by Greg Rucka: Finn, Poe, and Rey each get a short-ish story in this book, which is set right before The Force Awakens. Greg Rucka is a favorite author, too. Filed under: My Faves, The BrOT3, Quarter Portions

10. Ever After High: The Storybook of Legends by Shannon Hale: Fairytale retellings have never been so hilarious, or so heartbreaking. Filed under: Wait This Is Based on Kids Toys?, How Did I Get Here?, Why Am I Crying?

 

Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

One thought on “Top 10 Tuesday: Underrated/Hidden Gems

Leave a Reply

