Scripture Sunday (11)

Scripture Sunday is a weekly quote-post to highlight Bible passages I’ve read recently that I found particularly interesting. I’m not a qualified expert in any way, so I will keep my thoughts to my highly-subjective impressions. My translation is the New International Version.

From my reading this week:

She gave this name to the Lord who spoke to her: “You are the God who sees me,” for she said, “I have now seen the One who sees me.” That is why the well was called Beer Lahai Roi; it is still there, between Kadesh and Bered.

-Genesis 16:13-14

Why I chose it:

Hagar was used by the people around her and felt completely abandoned. I haven’t gone through anything remotely as difficult as Hagar did but it’s still easy to feel ignored or unimportant. Regardless of whether I’m doing something good, bad, or if I’m just floating along trying to keep my head above water, God sees me and the choices I make. That could be scary, but it’s also comforting that I don’t have to explain myself or lobby for His attention.

Leave a Reply

