Jane Eyre: At Hogwarts

My friend Casey sent me a link that sorted Jane Eyre characters into Hogwarts houses. It’s a pretty good post, and you should check it out, but I respectfully disagree with some of the sorting so I decided to do my own.

Hogwarts is, of course, the magical school in the Harry Potter series. Students are sorted by the magic Sorting Hat into whichever House they fit best. Gryffindors are known for their bravery (and recklessness), Slytherins are known for their ambition (and ruthlessness), Hufflepuffs are known for their loyalty (and dependence) and Ravenclaws are known for their knowledge (and lack of emotion).

I only sorted characters that we’ve met through chapter 26.

Jane: Hufflepuff

“….if others don’t love me, I would rather die than live–I cannot bear to be solitary and hated, Helen. Look here; to gain some real affection from you, or Miss Temple, or any other whom I truly love, I would willingly submit to have the bone of my arm broken, or to let a bull toss me, or to stand behind a kicking horse, and let it dash its hoof at my chest-“

Jane wants friends more than anything, and is very loyal to those friends she finds: Helen Burns, Mrs. Fairfax, Mr. Rochester, and St. John Rivers and his sisters.

Mrs. Reed: Slytherin

Mrs. Reed believes a person’s social class to be more important than anything, and is not above manipulation and deceit to keep Jane in what Mrs. Reed considers her proper sphere.

Mr. Brocklehurst: Ravenclaw

Mr. Brocklehurst thinks that the girls at his school can survive on discipline and learning alone, and doesn’t consider their emotional or physical needs nearly as much as he should.

Helen Burns: Ravenclaw

Helen just wants to read her book, but Jane won’t leave her alone. Although they become close friends, it’s more due to Jane’s persistence than Helen’s choice.

Miss Temple: Gryffindor

Miss Temple stands up for her pupils when she knows she needs to, even if doing so puts her job and livelihood at risk.

Mr. Rochester: Slytherin

Mr. Rochester enjoys his money and position, and isn’t above using those things to keep Jane as attached to him as possible (even though she doesn’t care about either).

Mrs. Fairfax: Hufflepuff

Mrs. Fairfax doesn’t judge others (much); she just wants to take good care of Mr. Rochester and his interests, and be  a good friend to Jane.

Blanche Ingram: Slytherin

Blanche knows what she wants in life, and that is to live in the manner to which she has been accustomed. If that means seducing a rich ugly bach like Rochester, so be it.

Richard Mason: Hufflepuff

Mr. Mason cares about his sister even though she’s homicidal towards him, and he cares about Rochester even though he locked Richard’s sister up in the attic.

 

How would you sort these characters? How would you sort others in Jane Eyre that I didn’t mention, such as Bessie or the Rivers? Let me know!

One thought on “Jane Eyre: At Hogwarts

  1. That other blogger had St. John as Slytherin and I would definitely disagree with that haha. I think he’d be Gryffindor which especially values chivalry 😛
    I agree with all of your choices , A+ sorting 😀

Leave a Reply

