Scripture Sunday (15)

Scripture Sunday is a weekly quote-post to highlight Bible passages I’ve read recently that I found particularly interesting. My translation is the New International Version.

From my reading this week:

Then Balaam spoke his message:

“Balak brought me from Aram,
    the king of Moab from the eastern mountains.
‘Come,’ he said, ‘curse Jacob for me;
    come, denounce Israel.’
How can I curse
    those whom God has not cursed?
How can I denounce
    those whom the Lord has not denounced?
From the rocky peaks I see them,
    from the heights I view them.
I see a people who live apart
    and do not consider themselves one of the nations.
Who can count the dust of Jacob
    or number even a fourth of Israel?
Let me die the death of the righteous,
    and may my final end be like theirs!”

Balak said to Balaam, “What have you done to me? I brought you to curse my enemies, but you have done nothing but bless them!”

He answered, “Must I not speak what the Lord puts in my mouth?”

-Numbers 23:7-12

Why I chose it:

Balaam and Balak’s full story is in Numbers 22-24, and is a pretty great time. The king insists that his country’s most famous wise man to curse Israel, but the wise man is, you know, WISE, and knows what God has planned for this wandering people.

Balaam’s story reminds me that it’s direly important to tell the truth, even when it’s not what people want to hear, and it’s wise to not  fight against the Creator of the world. He has plans.

Leave a Reply

