Scripture Sunday (17)

Scripture Sunday is a weekly quote-post to highlight Bible passages I’ve read recently that I found particularly interesting. My translation is the New International Version.

From my reading this week:

Understand, then, that it is not because of your righteousness that the Lord your God is giving you this good land to possess, for you are a stiff-necked people.

-Deuteronomy 9:6

Why I chose it:

I like this verse because God knows how hard it is for us to stay humble. If I am successful in life, in big or small things, it is not as a reward for being righteousness or doing all the right things. It is important to obey God, and He will reward me for it, but it doesn’t mean that I get some good real estate it means I don’t have to worry anymore about being a sinner. We’re all sinners, regardless of good things we get or good things that happen to us, and none of us are better than another.

Leave a Reply

