Scripture Sunday (19)

Scripture Sunday is a weekly quote-post to highlight Bible passages I’ve read recently that I found particularly interesting. My translation is the New International Version.

From my reading this week:

The people all said to Samuel, “Pray to the Lord your God for your servants so that we will not die, for we have added to all our other sins the evil of asking for a king.”

“Do not be afraid,” Samuel replied. “You have done all this evil; yet do not turn away from the Lord, but serve the Lord with all your heart. Do not turn away after useless idols. They can do you no good, nor can they rescue you, because they are useless. For the sake of his great name the Lord will not reject his people, because the Lord was pleased to make you his own. As for me, far be it from me that I should sin against the Lord by failing to pray for you. And I will teach you the way that is good and right. But be sure to fear the Lord and serve him faithfully with all your heart; consider what great things he has done for you. Yet if you persist in doing evil, both you and your king will perish.”

-1 Samuel 12:19-25

Why I chose it:

What I love about this passage is that even though the Israelites have been REAL DISOBEDIENT LATELY, they’ve realized and repented and Samuel, their mentor/advisor/priest/judge guy, encourages them to look toward future choices, not past ones. They can’t think, “Wow, we’ve made all of these mistakes and probably made God hate us…we might as well run from Him and find some other god or thing to serve who can take care of us since we clearly aren’t worthy.”

Even when I make one mistake, or ten more in a row, that doesn’t mean I should just keep on making more because “it’s too late.” Now is always a good time to try to do better and do the right thing.

Leave a Reply

