Top 10 Tuesday: Things That Make Me Instantly Want to Read A Book

When I pick up a book that I know nothing about, what things on the cover, blurb, or in the pages immediately draw me in and make me want to read it?

  1. Competency: I love me some competency, whether it’s at politicking, face-punching, or basket-weaving. Example: anything by Timothy Zahn
  2. Dragons: especially shape-shifting dragons! Examples: the Wings of Fire series by Tui Sutherland and Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
  3. Moral person thrown into court intrigue: Best when mixed with 1 and 2. Example: The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison
  4. Beauty and the Beast retellings: I mean, I really like fairy tale retellings in general, but I’m a sucker for B&B. Example: Beauty by Robin McKinley
  5. Bodyguards: I will drop everything to read any sort of bodyguard story. Just accept it. Example: King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner (although I would love that book anyway)
  6. Hate-to-love romance: Typical, I know, but they’re just always so entertaining. Example: the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews
  7. Victoriana with magic: I don’t care for historical fiction, but I love adding magic to a historical era and seeing what happens – especially Victorian England or Regency England. Example: A Matter of Magic by Patricia C. Wrede
  8. Complex family stories where they fight but also love and support each other: especially if romance is secondary and as long as the characters are well-drawn. Example: Sarah Dessen’s books
  9. Banter: If someone throws quotes at me from a book that make me laugh, I am very likely to pick it up to read myself. Example: anything by Sarah Rees Brennan
  10. School stories: especially if its fantasy but really any as long as it’s about making friends and following your dreams (although what’s confusing about this is that I don’t care much for Harry Potter). Example: Protector of the Small series by Tamora Pierce

Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Things That Make Me Instantly Want to Read A Book

  1. Misread: “I love me some competency, whether it’s at potlicking…”
    Me: wait is that like potlucking. I’m great at potlicking, honestly.

Leave a Reply

