Scripture Sunday (22)

Scripture Sunday is a weekly quote-post to highlight Bible passages I’ve read recently that I found particularly interesting. My translation is the New International Version.

I missed a post last week, so you get a bonus round this time!

From my reading this week:

David said to Michal, “It was before the Lord, who chose me rather than your father or anyone from his house when he appointed me ruler over the Lord’s people Israel — I will celebrate before the Lord. I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes.”

-2 Samuel 6:21-22

Why I chose it:

Ok, I know this is a classic, and it’s sort of over-used in Bible reading circles, but it is just SO. GOOD.

In my own life, it’s been especially relevant lately: sometimes there’s nothing for it but to come across as a silly fool who believes in unscientific things like a supernatural being who created everything and that a carpenter-turned-radical saved us all by dying and coming back to life. Fortunately, God values more important things than dignity.

PS Michal deserved better but that’s another post.

Bonus Round:

Absalom lived in Jerusalem for two years, but he never got to see the king. Then Absalom sent for Joab to ask him to intercede for him, but Joab refused to come. Absalom sent for him a second time, but again Joab refused to come. So Absalom said to his servants, “Go and set fire to Joab’s barley field, the field next to mine.” So they set his field on fire, as Absalom had commanded.

Then Joab came to Absalom at his house and demanded, “Why did your servants set my field on fire?”

-2 Samuel 14:28-31

Actual Trash Fire, Absalom son of David.

Leave a Reply

