The Jungle Books: Chattery

The more research I do on The Jungle Books, the more I’m realizing how crazily controversial Rudyard Kipling is, especially nowadays. Some people dismiss him as an imperialist racist, some say his politics don’t matter at all as long as he can tell a good story, and no one seems to hold a middle ground. I’m interested in discussing this if anyone has thoughts on Kipling’s problematic aspects and whether he / The Jungle Books deserves it.

giphy (34).gif

Here are a couple of links with articles from wildly different extremes:

In Defense of Rudyard Kipling and ‘The Jungle Books’

How Disney’s new Jungle Book subverts the Gross Colonialism of Rudyard Kipling

The first one, as you can guess, is very defensive, so much so that I worry about his arguments. The second one has a lot to say regarding the new movie but also a lot of Strong Words about Kipling’s beliefs and work.

I’m coming off of vacation and to be honest I’ve had a terrible week so far so I’m not going to manage to say anything articulate about this for now. But hit me up in the comments or on the Twitter tag #JungleRead and let’s chat!

giphy (36).gif

I hope you’re all enjoying the book, or at least engaging with it in fiery hatred.

Leave a Reply

